Plateaued at Level 9?

Just wondering if anyone else has had similar experiences. Granted, I was probably somewhere between JLPT5 and JLPT4 when it came to kanji before I started WaniKani so a lot of things are kanji and vocab that I already knew. However, I feel like I was doing a great job even on unfamiliar stuff. I had consistently been getting around 95% (often 100%) on my reviews even for kanji and vocab that were brand new. I just levelled up to 9, and the last two days I am having reviews where I am only getting 60-70% correct, and I am often missing kanji that I knew before starting the course.
I have been doing this round of the Absolute Beginner’s Book Club, thinking it would help, but now I am not sure if the looking up of other vocab (and all the new grammar I am learning) when trying to read is getting in the way of my reviews. If the answer is to just slow down, I am okay with that, I am more interesting in learning Japanese well than learning it ASAP.
My plan is to stop doing new lessons for a couple of days (I do anywhere from 10-20 new lessons each day depending on the content) and clear out my Apprentice Level to see if stuff starts sticking again, but mostly I just wanted to know if other people have been through the same thing.

6 Likes

I’d say 95%+ isn’t normal without a good amount of extra effort behind it (prior knowledge, reading frequently outside of WK, extra reviews, ect.) That said, <70% on a consistent basis is just going to lead to a big bloat of immature items.

For around level 9 I’d expect that to be normal. Somewhat early on users have to transition from trivial complexity kanji to things with a lot of strokes, shared radicals, similar appearances, similar readings, similar meanings… it leads to a lot of close but not quite there situations that everyone is going to have to diagnose sooner or later.