Passing JLPT N1 within 2 years

Hello everyone!
I’m currently in my first year of studying computer science in the Utrecht University in the Netherlands and I want to go to Kyoto University to follow a minor for 6 months during my third year.
There is an exchange programme available, but you are only able to apply for this if you have passed the JLPT N1 test.
Now, I really want to apply for this exchange and I’m more than willing to practice at least 2 hours a day for the coming two years(I’m already practicing at least 2 hours a day).
My current take is growing my vocabulary with Wanikani and practicing grammar on external sites, as well as phonetics.
I also have access to the JLPT vocabulary on memrise, but I prefer Wanikani’s method.

My question being: can you pass the JLPT N1 test by learning all the kanji, radicals and vocabulary in Wanikani or is it not close to sufficient, or is Wanikani’s content even more than the N1 test?

I’d really love to hear your opinions about this and your experience if you’ve passed or tried the N1 test.
Any tips are welcome as well!

Thank you very much.
Johan

3 Likes

It’s not close to enough on its own. WaniKani is a kanji reading (pronunciation) website, first and foremost. The level of detail needed for N1 vocab questions isn’t covered in WaniKani. It will teach you that 解釈 means “explanation,” but then you’ll see 4 options on the test where the meaning of “explanation” fits fine, but the difference is the nuance of the surrounding context. WaniKani won’t teach you any of that.

And that’s not even touching on grammar or listening.

13 Likes

Thank you very much for your lightning fast reply.
It makes a lot of sense, now realizing that I have indeed learned the isolated words up until now, and not really in context.
What would you recommend for me in this case?