Overwhelmed and confused

Hi, I recently started learning japanese and after learning hiragana/katakana with Tofugu guide I registered on wanikani(and kaniwani) and started learning kanji.
I’m also using Tae Kim and Genki for grammar(both recommended here).
So far I learned the very basics, like the state of being(だ/じょない/だった/じゃなかった), some basic particles like は/も/が, and some vocabulary like numbers up to 100, months, and how to tell the current time.
Here comes my problem tough: I have virtually unlimited free time, but I’m confused as how to use it efficiently and to the maximum potential.
Right now i’m basically running in circles from one guide to another, and i’m struggling a lot to find what would be the best method for me.
I already saw the “Additional resources” thread and it made me even more confused, there are just too many of them.(I’m talking about grammar and vocab, there’s already wanikani for kanji)
I’m a self learner and one problem that I have with tae kim guide is that there isn’t nearly enough practice for the grammar it teaches(I’m still confused with the が particle usage)
tl;dr What’s the best way to learn grammar and vocab for a self learner with a lof of free time? I still don’t know enough vocab and grammar to read things like よつばと or even http://watanoc.com/tag/n5
I saw a lot of people mentioning anki or kitsun.io but there are too many decks to choose from(overwhelmed again lol)
Thanks in advance

9 Likes

I’d recommend going through a textbook with a workbook to start. Since you already have Genki, just use that. It has a workbook for practice, so make sure you have that too. I wouldn’t worry about alternate grammar sources at the beginning, unless the explanation in your textbook confuses you.

Basically, when you’re overwhelmed with too many options, remove those options. Genki + WaniKani is a great place to start learning Japanese. :slight_smile:

19 Likes