Best Way To Approach Grammar

To put it simply I am looking for my best option for studying Japanese grammar, I am using wanikani as my main kanji learning resource and also have anki decks for kana-only words and additional vocabulary not on wanikani, and am wondering what the best way to approach grammar is in this situation, I purchased Minna No Nihongo however it was completely useless for me personally. Should I try another textbook or find another way to learn? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

9 Likes

Hi @joshroberts2000! As a beginner myself, I use Genki (second edition). The third edition is just released so maybe you can give this a try? It works for me and it works for a lot of people.

• Iā€™m using Genki as my primary grammar resource.
  • I use Bunpro as an extra, just to train my grammar with SRS.
  • For Kanji iā€™m using WaniKani (obviously :slight_smile:).
  • For Vocab (mainly the Genki Vocab) iā€™m using Anki.

Works for me so far :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Before we can make a recommendation, it would be good to know why you felt that book was completely useless. That may give some clues as to whether a different book would be a better option.

If you like the SRS-style learning and practice that WaniKani provides, you might look into something like Bunpro and see if you like it.

5 Likes

Thanks for the reply @Earthly! I was considering Genki to be my best option, but was looking for other peoples opinions on the matter, seems like its my best bet, will look into BunPro also. Thanks :smiley:

2 Likes