Okay, someone explain it to me cuz I don't get it

New user here, and like literally every new user, I’m complaining about how long it takes to get new lessons.

Yes, I know I’m not the first person to complain about this. MAYBE THAT MEANS IT’S A PROBLEM.

I’ve been studying kanji for a couple of years now and have hit a wall, so I thought I’d try this since so many people rave about it. Now, I have to wait seemingly days just for the honor of actually studying kanji? I get to study radicals all over again, with new set of “nicknames” widely differently (and occasionally nonsensical - some are the actual Japanese words they represent, others are “gun”?!?!?) to the ones I’ve already memorized, why?

Seems like a waste of time. There should really be a “test out” option for non-beginners. That’s the common sense solution to a problem like this.

Meanings assigned to radicals will be nonsense, as they are meant to provide a temporary memory aid while learning new kanji.

For speed, it’ll get faster later. You’re in this for the marathon, not the sprint =D

22 Likes

Are you familiar with what WK’s teaching method is? The kanji parts are given names so that stories can be created as a way to remember how they fit together.

Since the system relies on these stories, which are unique to this site, they take you from step one of the process no matter how much you know. Because if you suddenly jumped to, say level 10, the stories would consist of tons of kanji parts you had never learned in the first 10 levels.

If you desire a more free-form kanji learning resource, there are many available to choose from.

30 Likes

Have you read the Onboarding Series?

10 Likes

Again, if I already know the radicals, why am I being forced to relearn them? I already know them.

1 Like

Which radicals do you know? The official ones? Because I assume you don’t know the ones WaniKani uses for mnemonics.

18 Likes

Man, Leebo just literally explained this.

WK radicals are special to WK.