New to wanikani.Any tips?

I’m new to Wanikani,as you can see I’m still lvl 1.
I have to wait a day for my review to pop up,so I was wondering does anyone have some tips for new Wanikani user?
I just finished Genki 1,but I had some trouble remembering the Kanji,I don’t quite like how genki teach you the Kanji.
Can’t wait to start the climbing,lvl 60 I’m coming :slight_smile:

8 Likes

If you’re not in any kind of time rush, take it easy and enjoy, and take the time to really get the mnemonics embedded. If you can, try to not treat it as a race, as it will just make things less enjoyable and you won’t really finish that much sooner anyway. A rule of thumb that is often mentioned here is to only do lessons while your “apprentice” count is less than 100, which seems to give a manageable workload for many.

11 Likes
  • Go at your own pace,
  • Find a good routine,
  • Don’t let WaniKani be the only consistent studying you do,
  • Make sure to focus on grammar as well (I personally recommend Tae Kim’s Grammar Guide),
  • Have fun!
7 Likes

Welcome! Glad to have you here!

There’s not too much specific by way of tips that I can add that isn’t already covered either in the excellent knowledge guide - it’s on the help section of your homepage- or jprspereira’s stupendously good post from a while back My Journey of 368 days (+ The Ultimate Guide for WK 📖 ) - #2 by jprspereira

My only tiny additional advice is:

1. it’s probably going to feel a bit slow for a while, so kick back and enjoy it, and don’t complain about wanting your reviews to speed up on the forums because it makes you look like a noob :slight_smile: Then the reviews creep up on you till it’s nearly overwhelming (there’s a heap of threads here asking for help with that problem too) - the trick is to find a pace that works for you where you don’t burn out.