Need tips on how to continue

Hello,

I just started learning Japanese language about 24 days ago, so far i learned to read Hiragana and Katakana from mostly Tofugu, as soon as i finished, i continued on WaniKani up to level 3 now and am doing some RealKana in the meantime. I might say that my progress is slow but i have been enjoying it a lot.

Right now, I’m not sure on how to continue, is there any source/other recommendations on what i should do/focus next? Should i focus on grammar now? or is there something else?

*Edit: Thanks guys for all the suggestions, it helps me out a lot! I’ll try my best to learn Japanese and have fun while doing it

2 Likes

pick a grammar book. If your aim is exams then utilize kanzen master. If you want to take the more common option use genki. at the same time read short stories from tadoku and watch anime to train listening. Once kanji gets better u can continue with grammar books and eventually transfer to a mainly immersion based approach. Thats how i did it, it may not be the best but it worked for me mostly.

6 Likes

I second the suggestion of picking a grammar book. My personal recommendation is Minna no Nihongo because that’s what I used, but there are a bunch of great options.

If it’s in your budget, I recommend getting a teacher. I use iTalki and just take lessons 1-2x per month. It helps me with motivation to have an outside person holding me accountable.

edit: by the way, congrats on learning hiragana/katakana – first step out of the way! and im happy to hear that you’re enjoying the process. learning a language is fun!! good luck moving forward :slight_smile:

2 Likes

When I first started learning, I used Rocket Japanese levels 1-3. It was a little pricey, but it helped me build up a good foundation. From there, I moved into Japanese pod 101, an integrated approach to intermediate japanese, tobira, and a few other texts. I have weekly sessions on Italki as well with a private tutor.

2 Likes