My Japanese Journey so far - (Advice Please!) - Beginner

Hi guys!

I started learning Japanese in April as a hobby, as I’ve always been interested in learning a new language besides Spanish. In this short thread I just want to detail my journey so far and hopefully get advice and tips on how I can continue from where I’m at, and what things you guys recommend for a new learner!

From the beginning of May till around the end of May I learnt all the hiragana and katakana through Duolingo and Tofugu’s Learning Guide, I felt this was the easiest part of my journey so far and it really got me motivated to continue learning as I was so fascinated at understanding 2 whole new phonetic alphabets, and wanted to put them into use.

After learning the kana, I went over the basic rules for using kana and went over combo hiragana and its patterns in example sentences, this section took me around a week to learn.

After feeling pretty solid with the kana I had learnt, I next started to use the app called Memrise to gain knowledge of basic and common Japanese Phrases, learning around 150 in total over the course of two weeks and slowly learning new particles throughout the process.

As I continued with memrise, I realised that Kanji was appearing a lot more and at that point I still had little understanding on how they worked. So at the beginning of June I joined WaniKani which was recommended through Tofugu’s learning Guide to continue my learning and start to learn Kanji. I studied how Kanji can be learnt through radicals and learnt approximately 20 outside of Wani Kani, and started to consistently use WaniKani around the middle of June.

Since then I have been completing around 10-15 lessons a day depending on how much college work I have and other priorities such as Football, Swimming and depending on my mood for that day. I also complete all my reviews each time I log on and take notes of all Kanji and Vocab that I learn in a notebook.