Help Needed for this a Japanese Self Learner :D

Hey people!

So I am a humble level 4 in WaniKani and I was wondering if there was anyone here who’s learned Japanese thanks to Wani Kani?

I bumped into WaniKani through Tofugo and I’ve been advised to go to level 10 before learning any grammar. I’m a self-learner so it’s a bit daunting learning a language all myself on my own accord. I also have Genki but I don’t want to overwhelm myself by studying all over the place so I’ve been sticking to Tofugo’s guide. The only downside is I spent $100 on a book that I don’t use… >.<

I’m hoping Tofugo’s guide will help my journey in learning Japanese so when I go to Japan in 3 years it will be amazing. Your comment, opinions, questions and stories on how you taught yourself Japanese is muuuch appreciated

5 Likes

I wasn’t self-taught, but I started studying kanji before grammar.
My knowledge of kanji, which was around level 20 here, helped me get N4 with minimal kanji studying, and I could focus on understanding the grammar more thoroughly instead.

I also took a loooong time getting there anyway, so I feel like getting to level 10 is not a meaningful amount of time in the long run.

At the same time, I would recommend studying grammar as soon as you can read hiragana and katakana, which you must if you’re using WaniKani anyway.

Perhaps at first using resources for English speakers, so you don’t have to deal with kanji, but it’s still going to be useful to you, and you can move to Japanese books once you feel comfortable with kanji. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I’m obviously still progressing, but WaniKani has been a huge part of my studies. It’s definitely responsible for a large portion of my ability to read and get around in my daily life in Japan.