My Lvl60 Finnish story

Sounds like many people write their Lvl60 story, so I guess I should too. Hopefully this won’t be too long.

My history with Japanese/Japan and living abroad:

I’m from Finland, so growing up we had next to no any Asian things (not much other foreign things either aside Swedish), let alone Japanese. Probably first encounter with Japan was around ~1985 (about 10y.o.) when I read James Clavell’s book “Shogun”. I read lot of books, sometimes semi-randomly picking up books at local library and Shogun was one of them. It was really interesting to see how different culture could be (albeit different era too). I read his other books too, but I re-read Shogun couple times.

In Finland it’s common to study different languages, it’s mandatory to study 2 foreign languages too. For basically everyone they are Swedish and English, plus quite many pick third one. I studied German as third one. At college I tried to join Latin class but it was full. One point I also took one class in Chinese (too difficult, wouldn’t recommend).

Early 2000 I had been working for Finnish cell phone company (non-Nokia) for ~5 years, and I started thinking it’d be fun to work abroad too. I told my boss if there’s opportunities for my skills at our company’s other office locations, I’d be happy to talk more. Over next 2 years there was multiple times opportunities, but they never came to realization. Then one of them was to Japan, and it seemed to happen as things started preparing. Since I had already studied several languages, I thought I should study Japanese too. I started to study already in Finland. Unfortunately the project got cancelled before I got to move to Japan, but this point I already thought the language is interesting so I kept studying for about 2 years at local adult college classes.