My journey from N5 to N2 in one year (Level 60 post 🎉)

Oh boy here we go ೭੧(❛▿❛✿)੭೨

It’s finally here, at long last, I’m shiny and golden and it’s time to ask for stickers brag :grin:
My journey was a bit bumpy, but that’s expected. Sometimes I was feeling sick, demotivated, tired or just taking a vacation - it’s totally fine to stop for a couple of days than to burn out completely.

I’m very grateful to have @jprspereira in my life cheering for me this whole time, and I’m not sure I could’ve made it this far without him or this community. My life changed so much since I started learning Japanese again: I found new friends and my other half, started reading again and grew up as a person. So thank you, WaniKani, for all of this :yellow_heart:

How I got here :o

I started learning Japanese when I was just a teen and watched a lot of anime. Buuut Russian textbooks are not that great, so I quickly stopped, unable to go through a whole bunch of linguistic terms. Fast forward to university time when I started learning again in 2017, this time with WaniKani and Genki 1, but burnt out going too quickly and skipping vocab (don’t do that :eyes:)

Then in January 2019, I got very sick and wanted to go back to Japanese, this time taking it seriously. From there on out I started investing more time in grammar. Last time I got to level 20, but even with a third of WK done, I wasn’t able to read almost anything which is usually not a problem with kanji or vocab - it’s grammar.

With WaniKani it was pretty much the same all this time. I followed Jp’s advice and was doing 20 lessons a day, rarely a bit more to do all the kanji, and 40 on fast levels, which did make me tired. What I do recommend is looking up words with Wiktionary, gogen or Goo, etc. for etymology of some words.