Click to see a cake

Today is not only exactly one and a half years since i started using WK, but its also more importantly the day i learned the last kanji on WK! So two reasons to celebrate today :tada:
(actually i hit 5000 burns today too, so i guess three things to celebrate? wait i didnt plan this :laughing: )

INFO ABOUT ME

I was 25 when i started learning japanese, working as programmer 30 hours a week from home (corona times), while finishing last few classes for my IT masters degree also from home (sadly studying japanese was more fun than working on my thesis, so im still not there! but all classes are done and my thesis is almost complete, so i plan on finishing in January!).

While stuck at home for almost a year, i was pretty bored already, when i remembered one day that few colleagues from work were learning languages (German, Spanish) mainly through duolingo for fun - this intrigued me but i didnt really care about those languages enough, but which language would interest me?

I definitely spent close to 5000 hours on watching anime with eng subtitles (yea i know, sad, dont judge me haha :laughing:) and i really liked how the language sounds, plus theres also bunch of games, manga, novels or shows that either havent been translated or might be more interesting in japanse and very different culture i might understand more if i learn the language - so i decided to try Japanese duolingo. This quickly led to a serious studying which is more described in my japanese progress log. Sadly those thousands of hours on anime didnt give me as much as one might expect since ive been just reading english subtitles the whole time and havent really tried to get meaning out of japanese, but i feel like it gave me pretty good listening skills and hunch if the word sounds familiar or even if the sentence sounds plausible.