After Learning Kanji

I have learned Hiragana and Katahana and I just started learning Kanji with this website. Whenever Im finished, what would be the next best step?

2 Likes

Where do you imagine yourself in next 10 years?

4 Likes

fluent in japanese

Welcome to WaniKani! :crabigator:

It sounds like you haven’t yet started to study any grammar? I would definitely recommend that you get studying some grammar, long before you ever finish with WaniKani :slightly_smiling_face: but I guess after that… reading!

2 Likes

Thanks! Would you have any remediations for starting this?

That’s one of those questions where you’ll get a totally different answer depending on who you ask :wink:

I would probably recommend trying out some free resources first, because then even if you don’t get on with them you won’t have wasted any money. People often suggest Tae Kim’s Guide, Japanese Ammo with Misa, or Cure Dolly (which is just horrendous audio-wise but lots of people swear by it).

I personally got started with the Genki textbooks, and I find them pretty clear and easy to read. That said, they are designed for classroom use, so might not be ideal for self-learning (I started out taking classes myself). Some people prefer the Minna no Nihongo textbooks - I’ve not tried them.

12 Likes

learn it wherever you can. Start with either an online or physical textbook. physical: Genki, Japanese from Zero, Minna no Nihongo, or digital: Tae Kim, 80/20 Japanese, tofugu(Wanikani) has some recommendations here

You can also go the video route with Japanese Ammo with Misa, or Cure Dolly like Radish mentioned.

as for reading, just find a manga, light novel, or anything you like, and try to start deciphering it. If you want something that tracks with your WK progress, try Satori Reader