Mnemonic for 会社 makes learning 社会 harder

The mnemonic for 社会 is “correct”; " When a company meets together, … That is a society.". It has “company” first, then “meets”, reflecting the order of the kanji.

However, the mnemonic for 会社 is “wrong”; “The place where your company meets is your company.” Here the order is reversed; “company” first, then “meets”. This is the same order as society, which means that both mnemonics are remembered and get confused; which one do I use for which?, I ask myself.

I do have my own mnemonics*, but the damage has been done. Now I need to actually unlearn this harmful mnemonic. Not just useless, but actually harmful.

(*Companies that meet form a society
*Meetings held within a company are for that company alone

I am not good at mnemonics.)

6 Likes

Hi Risa san :wave:

It is okay to be confused between Shakai and kaisha. Do not worry too much about the mnemonics. Once you get accustomed to the kanji (through multiple repetitions), you will get it right.

If you watch My Hero Academia, think of Stain. He says “Kono Tadashiki shakai no tame ni” (for the sake of a rightful society) - forgive my literal translation. There might be better words to use.

When I think of society, I think of Stain. (It is a pretty memorable line in the series).

Good luck :four_leaf_clover:

2 Likes

I don’t watch that, sorry. And don’t plan to.

4 Likes

This happens a lot, unfortunately. I’ve learned to sometimes use my own mnemonics and/or just brute-force memorise them :sweat_smile:

4 Likes

No worries Risa san. Then you can use the other tip.

Think of how the kanji starts.

Shakai - S - Society (starts with Sha sound)
Kaisha - K/C - Company (Starts with Ka sound)

S for Society
K for Company

Hope that helps.

24 Likes

Oh yea, I remember those …

I think I would have had lots of trouble with that vocab pair if it weren’t for this bank that was right next to my house called ‘CaixaBank’. Caixa is read as kaisha so I just used that! :joy: