Mnemonics : problems and solutions?

Hi all,

I’d like to hear from the community on this below :

1/ what are the main problems you are facing with mnemonics. Could be the original ones from WaniKani, new ones you created, specific kanjis you have difficulty with, etc.

2/ when a mnemonic is not working for you, what is your strategy / solution to learn that kanji/vocabulary ? Are you using rote memorization (and obviously the SRS system from WK), or are you spending more time to find systematically a mnemonic that finally works for you ?

Reason for asking : I’ve been working & improving my own system of mnemonics for the last 9 months, I’m happy with it, very consistent and works well… but it is limited in the sense that it is only based on my own experience - basically it’s only solving the issues which I faced myself :grimacing: So I’d like to see challenges from other learners and try to improve my system to (hopefully) solve those additional problems. And share it back to the community of course !

Thanks for any input or comment.

PS : I was not sure in which forum category to post this message, so feel free to move it to a more relevant place if needed.

Yannick

after level 20 most of them became quite useless to remember, they became a wall of text, that on review, you remember part of the silly story but the main word for meaning or reading make you confuse them or even dont remember at all.

Also those mnenomics for reading become so odd that you also dont remember them

recently I learned “to touch”, (さわ)

mnemonics show “You try to touch a saw (さわ)”

like, what is that reading has to do with it? There are several others that also dont help at all.

5 Likes

Another issue there, saw is definitely used for さ as well (左)
究 also has the mnemonic “You are researching cucumbers”, not very helpful, maybe better because of how the story talks about digging holes.