Looking for (very) easy Manga recommendations

I’m looking for some easy Manga to read to reinforce known vocabulary and pass time in-between reviews.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated, thanks! :smiley:

1 Like

Can you point me in the right direction?

How much grammar do you know?

If you don’t know any grammar, trying to read a manga can be a very discouraging pastime. If you’re around N5 grammar level, it can still be a trying experience. If you’re at N4 grammar level, that’s where it begins to become comfortable to ready the easiest manga.

It’s best to have at least a little grammar knowledge before jumping into reading, but regardless of your grammar level, if you’re ready and willing to take a crash course in learning grammar as you go, you can pick up a lot by joining the Absolute Beginner Book Club.

4 Likes

My grammar is not so great, but I will be improving it little-by-little (I have a lifetime Bunpro account).

Should hold-off on reading until I get to N4? Or is reading possible with N5?

1 Like

Whether you should start reading now or hold off depends on your tolerance for encountering unknown grammar when reading, and how you plan to handle it. You will want to get good at looking up unknown grammar.

The book clubs here are great for that, because you can ask questions in the relevant discussion thread for all current and past book clubs.

If you haven’t read any manga yet, the first one you read will be the hardest thing ever, no matter how easy people say it is. If you can make yourself learn the grammar as you go along, there’s no reason to wait.

But if you start reading and it’s just too hard, there’s no harm in pausing reading, and learning a bit more grammar first. Be encouraged to know that you’re just a little grammar away from being able to understand the content.