Learning Kanji outside of WK?

Just wondering if anyone here does extra kanji study outside of WK. I was considering adding extra words to learn while I am studying grammar, Like much more difficult to learn but very basic English meaning kanji.

I actually am doing it on tanoshiijapanese but I like the WK ways better. Anyway, since I’ll have to upgrade and all, and I can’t so I’ll have to rely on tanoshii and the reviews here. :slight_smile:

Get into higher levels and I have to move things around to make room for WK alone, let alone for extra kanji learning. Not to mentioning studying the rest of Japanese

To me, this is suitable enough to supplement the rest of your learning like Grammar, reading, listening and just USING.

i just add any new words i come across into an anki file…harder part is remembering to do the anki practice…

Extra words I’ll add if they end up frequent enough in whatever I’m looking at, but I avoid adding extra kanji and never add them when they’re in WK (jisho will point out the level). There are a lot of words/useful kanji that won’t appear in WK depending on your situation, so there’s no harm in adding more if you have the time/energy to handle it. I just don’t think there’s a point in really stressing it if you’re probably going to learn the words organically (via repeated lookup, workbook, ect) or sometime down the road on WK.

Ultimately you’re probably here because you want to learn Japanese, so if doing extra study is conducive to that go on ahead. If you’re just looking to add stuff because your grammar resources (genki, tae kim, ect) use a lot of kanji you don’t know specifically I’d advise you look into ways to accelerate your WK pace effectively. It’s advised in one of the faqs/guides to start grammar around level 5 if you haven’t already, but I noticed between 7 and 9 was where I hit a turning point and could comfortably dive into tae kim’s guide without freaking out over kanji lookups.

TL;DR - Do what works best for you.