Finding access to greater volumes of Kanji

So as most people would know, I assume, is that sadly WaniKani is limited in how much I-we could learn Kanji. Now while I am still quite new in indulging in this endeavor of being humbled by The Great Crabigator, I would like to know for future reference if there is any (online/physical) place I and other people could continue their studying of Kanji beyond WaniKani. In other words, I’m a newb already planning to learn and read Japanese novels completely made of up Kanji and I think it would be helpful for those of us who are hungry for more extensive vocab :stuck_out_tongue:

Any suggestions? 

Thanks

WaniKani teaches you a lot.

Koichi likes to stress that you should start reading a lot when you get to level 10. I’ve changed the language on my phone and laptop to Japanese. It’s a little difficult sometimes, but knowing katakana gets you a long way.

Once you’ve finished WaniKani, I would suggest that you just keep reading and using Japanese daily, when you come across kanji and vocab you don’t know, you can add them to HouHou or Anki. That way you get the benefits of WaniKani anyway.

Usually the reason you want to learn Japanese will give you things to read about, so it shouldn’t be too much trouble finding reading material.

I would suggest finding how something you’re interested is refered to in Japanese and searching for that on Google.jp.

2 Likes

Thank you, this is really helpful! I’d definitely take this advice :slight_smile:

Actually if you complete all 60 levels, it will cover up almost 2136 standard Joyo Kanjis and that’s what most Japanese people write in books. Just find the missing kanjis in the list (probably just 100-200 that are not included in WK)

It’s true that they also use Kanji outside the list but they must provide its reading and sometimes the meaning. So you don’t have to worry about that.