Japanese is frustrating!

Hello everybody.

I’ve been learning Japanese for about 4 months (not long I know). I just levelled up to 5 and in the level up email it recommended i go to the beginner section and ask / answer questions using kanji i have already learned.

Scrolling through, I realise that I can’t read (basically) anything!!!

I am working my way through the first Japanese From Zero book but this doesn’t really cover too much grammar.
I do DuoLingo every day (yes I know it is not the best tool, but it is free).
I have completed about 8 eps. of Pimsleurs as well.

My question is - What should i do from here in order to advance by reading abilities?
Buy the TaeKim book (or something else) to understand grammar etc. better?

Any help is greatly appreciated (and needed!!!)

Peter

12 Likes

Have you tried the Japanese from Zero youtube series? You could still go through the book at a normal pace, but if you listen and watch all the videos, it’ll give you a decent foundation of grammar that you can use to start reading. From there I recommend joining an absolute beginner book club or reading one of the books they’ve read. As you practice more with real Japanese aimed at native speakers, grammar should make more and more sense. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hi, Yes i’ve watched a few of the youtube vids (they are good) but i haven’t got around to finishing them off. Thank you for your response.

1 Like

I don’t think it has to be frustrating if you want to take your time. For the time being you can focus exclusively on reading or watching videos about grammar. I did mainly that for the first year I was learning.