I've hit the wall

Just sort of a pity party that I don’t think people outside of the community would understand.

I knew a bunch of kanji before I started wanikani. And so while I’ve been doing it on and off for the past two years, a lot of the reviews and vocab were relatively easy for me. I wasn’t having to memorize that much new information.

The past few levels the number of unknown kanji was steadily increasing, but now I’ve hit 38 and am failing so hard. I just can’t remember them or any of the vocab from 37. I learn best through failure so I’m sure it will work out, but I’m feeling a little sad because I’m not as “brilliant” as I was.

So wah. Excuse the pity party although if you want to join me you are more than welcome.

18 Likes

Forgetting is for sure a part of learning, thats the whole point of SRS. I would not beat up on yourself too much. Just cant give up got to keep trying. :smiley:
Wish I could offer better advise lol.

3 Likes

Just one question…who are you? Our WaniKani members are known for their courage!!!

Honestly, there is nothing wrong with your situation. The more you study the harder it becomes so I wouldn’t be surprised to see you struggling even more.

Who cares if you are brilliant or not, what matters is the result. If you make it to level 40+ then it’s better than being brilliant and stopping WaniKani at level 39.

Ignore that “little voice” inside your head that tells you “you are not good enough”, look at me I am only level 2 and I try my best to not give up. Now don’t disappoint me, I am waiting for that level 40 on your icon!

9 Likes

I feel you! I just started on the 50s and for the first time it feels like the kanji just slip away. Every time I review it feels like stuff I’d never seen before.