How do I get my motivation to continue back?

So I have been doing this for two years this December I believe and I am currently on Level 42. I’m not rushing the process or anything like that but I am finding WaniKani to be a chore. I hate waking up and having to do X amount of reviews especially when I have over 100+ to do.

I’ve wanted to change to another method of learning Kanji and am tempted to go do KLC book for Kanji as a change of pace and to help distinguish between different kanji better. I guess I continue because I have gone so far and I am getting closer to the end but I don’t know if I will be able to reach there.

It’s not that I don’t want to learn Kanji, I love doing it just not sure if WanKani is the best for me anymore. But I will say that without it I would not be able to read so many things so far.

What would you guys recommend I do? Continue along this way or continue with another method somehow?

3 Likes

Hello @Gorganite, thanks for reaching out. I guess the first question I’d ask is “why are you learning Japanese?” What made you start this journey? What do you hope to get out of it? :slight_smile:

If kanji is the strongest part of your Japanese abilities, I’d say maybe this is a time to use vacation mode indefinitely and revisit WK when you’re feeling like it’s a bit more necessary to your learning journey. If kanji is holding you back from other areas of Japanese, try slowing down your pace and doing x amount consistently each day, even if it means your dashboard isn’t at 0/0

1 Like

Well I’m living in Japan so hoping to be able to communicate and read in Japanese. Also I would like to have conversations and text messages with my partner so this is all important to me to do :smiley:

(Well more than I already do)

Kanji isn’t holding me back I would say, I still focus on reading, listening etc and enjoy all of that. It’s just WaniKani and the SRS reviews that I have to do I guess.

2 Likes