Is there any way to skip levels?

So I studied Japanese for a year at college and have already memorized quite a few Kanji and Vocabulary. Is there a way I can take a test to see where Iam at and skip ahead to that point like there is with Duolingo?

1 Like

There is none, the wanikani system relies heavily on knowing the previous levels the way they teach them to match the mnemonics and such.
It’s best to just enjoy the ride while it’s easy.

22 Likes

I can give you my perspective: I spent about three years in college studying Japanese and then did a study abroad one year, so I had a lot of knowledge coming into WK. The first 10-15 levels were almost entirely review for me, and after that your average level would be 50-60% kanji and vocab I already knew. Now that I’m pushing level 50 I find that the majority of words and kanji are new for me and my reading ability has improved dramatically.

It was a bit annoying spending the first couple of months mostly reviewing stuff I already knew but it was worth pushing through to reach the parts where I started learning new things. If you’ve only been studying a year, it probably won’t take you that long to reach the level where you’re learning a lot of new kanji and vocab.

11 Likes

if you know the kanji and vocab already, you get them right on every review and then you level up very fast in the end.

I wouldn’t worry about skipping.

6 Likes

Yeah. The only thing he has to memorize is the radicals. If he already knows most of the beginning kanji it should be a breeze.

4 Likes

Not at all. I was in the same boat and I was irritated for the first 10+ levels. But now all of that previous knowledge from classroom learning is finally weaning away, and unfamiliar things are coming in. It’s worth the wait. 60 levels is a LOT and it’s good to just relax while it’s still easy, and get a hang of how WK even works and play around with scripts you’d might need.

6 Likes

As a perspective, take it as you want to