How to skip levels instead of starting from the beginning

Im not a beginner and i don’t want to wait days just to start doing the kanji that’s on my level. Is there anyway to skip the kanji i already know?

1 Like

There is not

14 Likes

There isn’t. Wanikani is not designed to permit this.

4 Likes

One of the main features of WaniKani is the mnemonics written for all items. These mnemonics use names for kanji elements that are often unique to WaniKani, in an effort to make them memorable. You’d be skipping many of these unique mnemonic components by skipping ahead and so they currently have no plans to allow it.

13 Likes

I was at the same point when I started with WaniKani (have been learning Japanese for two years at university back then) and I am glad I did not skip ahead because I realized among the way of how much I don’t know.

2 Likes

Yeah it took me a few months but I finally got to a point where I’m learning new material. It’s worth it. Just fill the time up with something else while you wait for your level.

3 Likes

Level 60 post from the user who started WaniKani after passing N1:

11 Likes

To burn something only requires answering the question right 8 times and you’ll never see it again… so for each item that you know well, there shouldn’t be much time spent.

9 Likes