Is there any obscure backstory/legend behind the Crabigator?

Dear everyone,

I recently subscribed, and now I’m studying twice every day. All this WaniKani visiting made me notice the weird illustration at the bottom, and it got me thinking about the story behind our learning process.

Who is the Crabigator for real? Is there a legend or a backstory? Am I ignorant of Japanese mythology? If not, how can we interpret this? Are we the Crabigator since we destroy turtles? However, the term WK uses for the destruction of turtles is burn. Does the Crabigator breath fire? Does he make the other anthropomorphic turtle by his side roast the turtles for him? Isn’t the Crabigator our lord, master or husbando? Do we become the Crabigator when we reach level 60? Can anyone testify that this is even possible? Why does the turtle that is being eaten by the Crabigator have the 金 kanji on his stomach? Is this even the correct kanji? Alternatively, may the Crabigator just be a metaphor for the way in which kanji are constructed? My (imbecile and questionable) approach to this only leads to more questions.

Can someone please bring clarity to this forum?

28 Likes

To answer this question, we must first revisit the tale of @forgottenmems, who can never truly be forgotten despite their name.

9 Likes

(Correct me if I’m wrong, but) I’m pretty sure the Crabigator is just an animal Koichi made up. I read an interview a while back and he said he usually comes up with the weird animals.
We are not the crabigator, however, we do serve him. Everyone has a sect name on Wanikani (Click on your profile to see it) For example, I’m a turtle… Which just made me realized I am Crabigator food :cold_sweat:
There have been no pictures of the Crabigator breathing fire, or at least none that I could find.
I’m pretty sure the turtle has 全 on it, which means “all,” so you could say the crabigator is eating everything :thinking:

5 Likes