Is there a UserScript that reads the English out loud when you type the right meaning?

I’m looking for a script that reads the English out loud when you type the meaning correctly (kinda like when you get the Japanese reading correct it reads that out loud).

4 Likes

AFAIK nothing like that exists, since the primary function of Wanikani is learning the Japanese part.

1 Like

I already know English (it’s my native language), I want to use the script to reinforce the English meanings…
I’m sure it can’t be too hard to implement.

Also, I’ve seen “joke scripts”, so my idea shouldn’t be too far fetched.

I’m not a coder, but since there isn’t an English audio component to the WK item pages, there isn’t currently anything of that nature for a script to fetch. I do understand your desire for audio reinforcement of the English meaning of the items, though.

4 Likes

Except… where would you get the audio from?

There are services that could provide auto-generated audio, but I don’t think they are free…

3 Likes

Lol, I’m not a programmer, so I have no clue! :upside_down_face:
Somehow make google translate do it? (I have no idea how these things work).

Best not to assume it’s easy if you don’t know then. :wink:

Now, as someone who has written several scripts, I’d say it’s a relatively easy script to write if the audio is provided ahead of time. If you can provide audio for all vocab items, either self-recorded or from a source with a permissive copyright, maybe someone will build the script for you. :slight_smile:

Of course, someone might build the script even without audio being provided ahead of time. But it sounds like a pain to me!

4 Likes

:no_mouth:‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏

Depends on how clear you want it. There’s a javascript Web Speech API draft, which defines an API to let browsers read a string aloud for you. Most major modern browsers seem to have some type of support, so you can let it read a piece of text aloud for you in 2 lines: