Is it weird to say it like this?

私は日本語の学生です。

Is it weird to say that you are a student of Japanese this way? Would it be better to say it like this?:

私は日本語を学ぶ学科の学生です。

What about just 私は日本語を勉強します。
Unless studying Japanese is your full-time occupation and you want to make that explicit.

2 Likes

I want to express it in a way like the English: I’m a student of Japanese, or I’m learning Japanese. I was told that the first sentence I used was a bit unnatural. Since my grammar is very basic I tried to put some things I already learned into saying that I study Japanese :slight_smile: (Not as a full-time occupation).

私は日本語を勉強します。is probably the better way to say it, to express what I mean :slight_smile:

Thank you!

If you want to make it known that you are a student without making it sound unnatural, you could just say 大学で日本語を勉強しています。The 大学で just shows where you are studying Japanese (大学 = university, で is just a particle for marking the location in this case). 勉強します vs 勉強しています is like the difference between “I study Japanese” and “I am currently studying Japanese” (not a big deal, especially not if you are a beginner, but if you are far enough along to know the second form, that would probably be better)

1 Like

Thanks a ton!

the で particle is something I havn’t studied yet, but now I know It’s a location marker, good to know for later! (I will probably learn more particles soon, when I’m past the most basic ones) Thanks a lot for listing both the forms as well :slight_smile:

I probably went a bit over my head in trying to write a sentence that would work in this case, Guess I have to stick with writing more basic sentences (note: basic for me) until I progress a bit :smiley:

In any case, thanks a lot for the reply!

(A little bit after I wrote this the particle で poped up, currently going through Chapter 3 in Genki ^^)