iOS app for testing kanji writing

Hey there,

I’m looking for an iOS app that doesn’t force me to study anything but just let me practice the writing of the kanji I already studied here on wanikani, and so, that possibly lets me add a customized deck so that I can only add the kanji that I studied so far (or that allows me anyhow to filter the kanji I’m tested on). I looked for something on both WK forum and google in general and couldn’t find anything that suits the case
I especially like how ‘kanji study’ for android works but there isn’t an iPhone version.
So what I’m looking for is just an app for testing and not studying itself
Does anyone know anything alike?

2 Likes

I am confused by your question not gonna lie.

You don’t wanna have to study, you want to practice writing? Like stroke order or something? or Just writing sentences.

Or do you mean like a Kanji database where you can just look stuff up as you please? You could see if Jisho has an iOS app for that.

The app I use is Jakeipuu, it’s just WaniKani for iOS. You could see if Kamisame works in your browser? I think that does a study the content you’ve already learned, you do require the use of your WaniKani API key though so it can pull your data.

Here is how it looks on my phone:

1 Like

I use Anki for writing practice. You can create a deck with the kanji you know, and then design the front (i.e. what it shows to quiz you) and back (i.e. what it reveals afterwards) of the cards however you like. If you just want to be shown the kanji itself and then write it out, you could make the front and back of the cards identical. (For my own writing practice, the front shows me the reading and meaning, and the back shows me the kanji in a font that has the stroke order annotated.)

2 Likes

How’s this app strike you? I’ve used it in the past.

There’s a price to unlock all the kanji, but after that nothing is gated behind needing to learn previous material. You can hop to any kanji. Organized by N-level.