Imabi vs A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar

I finished TextFugu a few months ago and have been hungering for some more grammar knowledge lately so I’ve been shopping around for my next resource. I thought it would be as easy as just do Tae Kim, but upon deeper investigation, it seems it’s not (supposedly Tae Kim has lots of misinformation?). I started to lean towards Imabi, but then realized that if I’m gonna go over 500 pages anyway, why not just do the highly praised A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar (which I already own, so the cost isn’t a factor). What do you guys think?

2 Likes

Currently I’m content with the grammar Bunpro provides. As for books, I have no strong opinion. I have some experience with ‘An introduction to modern Japanese’ by Richard Bowring. I thought that book had some intuitive explanations. It’s supposed to be used in a classical setting though, so the workbook has only exercises, no answers.

I’m surprised by your Tae Kim remark. I’m not in a position to judge whether there is misinformation, but I see his guide recommended quite frequently. Can you elaborate a bit more? Maybe give some example(s) of misinformation?

1 Like

I like A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar, but am not convinced I would use it for a main learning resource, though it depends on your strategy. As you probably know, it’s alphabetical, vs a textbook where they kind of follow increasing difficulty and building on each other. Reading it front to back would teach you a lot, but might feel a little haphazard.

I find it really helpful when I’m trying to read, because it lets me look up a grammatical form, get a grasp of what it does, and see a bunch of examples. I really like it for contextual learning - seeing something and learning how/why it works that way. I don’t think it would be as useful for building knowledge systematically, but you can always try it.

4 Likes

Well, what do you think of DBJG, since you already have it? How much have you used it?