I am writing the JLPT N5 in less then a month!

Hey Everyone! I am going to be writing the JLPT N5 on December 2nd and I feel really nervous!

I have been studying Japanese for a couple of years, finished Genki 1, Japanese for busy people 1. I am using bunpro and working through Japanese for busy people 2 to keep my grammar sharp. I also have the ultimate JLPT N5 vocabulary on anki finished(93%). I just started Wanikani in September, I unfortunately found it late. I will probably have my Wanikani level around 7-8 maybe 9 if I am lucky by the time I write the test.

Does anyone with past experience writing the N5 know if this is enough? Thanks! :slight_smile:

7 Likes

It is definitely enough.

chrome_2018-11-04_16-38-41

7 Likes

Yeah, I did N5 after Nakama 1 (roughly equivalent to Genki 1) and Japanese for Busy People 1, and passed easily. Just make sure you practice listening, because you need to pass each section separately.

(On a small side note, I’m not sure if English is your first language, but it’s a little odd to say you’re “writing” the JLPT - sounds like you’re the one creating the exam paper in the first place. It’s more natural to say you’re “taking” or “sitting” a test.)

9 Likes

Yeah, I’ve heard “make a test” to mean “take a test” from some non-natives as well.

3 Likes

Hi @anon80613801! There’s no way you can be 100% prepared for a test like this, but it sounds like you’ve got it covered. :relaxed: Best of luck and try to enjoy it rather than get nervous.

Maybe OP is actually writing the test in 1 month. That’s why the urgency :eyes:

14 Likes

I’ve heard people from Canada use “writing a test” before.

5 Likes

Hey everyone! Thank you for all the positive responses! I can confirm that I am Canadian! When I saw @belthazar response I became slightly confused. Had I been talking about writing tests, taking tests, sitting tests wrong all my life? I asked some of my friends and they also said they would write my question the way I did.