How to write small kana in Gboard

Hello everyone! I’m fairly new to Wanikani (recently restarted level 1) and learning Japanese. I I’m using the Flaming Durtles app on Android and use the Gboard 12 key keyboard to type in hiragana for kanji readings.

However, I have a small problem as I don’t know how to type small kana (Eg small つ) on the keyboard. This means I can’t currently do my reviews properly as I cannot input the correct answer! Does anyone know how to do this on Gboard keyboard or is there a better keyboard available that has this functionality? Thanks in advance for any help.

1 Like

In the same key as " and ° if you slide up it shows 小
It makes small the kana typed just before

8 Likes

Ah that’s it! All working nicely now. Thank you so much!

1 Like

You can also just tap that key rather than having to do the slide motion. A tap cycles between all the possible small/large/dakuten/not options for the character, so for the usual characters you want to make small like やよ a tap will just switch them between small and large. For つ the sequence for taps is つ->っ->づ and then back round to つ, so a single tap also works here.

8 Likes

Yes, I can see that when you press that key it cycles through each option for the character. This is really useful to know, thanks!

1 Like

With an IME you can also type many characters as small characters by prefixing them with an ‘l’:
ala → あぁ
teli-supu-nn[F7] → ティースプーン (teaspoon)

1 Like

You can save a keystroke by typing “thi”. :slightly_smiling_face:

Clean forgotten if there’s a similar shortcut for the トゥ in トゥモローランド…

Also, while that works for most IMEs, WaniKani used to treat R and L as the same - that is, “teli” would yield てり - and you’d have to use the alternate option of “x” instead. I vaguely recall that they changed that.

2 Likes

I’ve been using the Gboard 12 key flick on my phone for (almost 2!) years now for my WaniKani reviews. I really like it. I hate using Qwerty on my phone…I only use swype for English…