How to make WK only accept when all known readings are entered?

Pretty much what the title is saying. I am new to WK and just reached LvL. 2 as I noticed that, when learning new kanji, there are often multiple readings already taught to you in the lessons but you only have to know one of them when reviewing. Maybe I am just a little clumsy, but is there a way to make me have to enter all readings I already know in order to get the reading of a kanji right?

Also, if this was discussed here before please let me know so the topic can be taken down.

Thanks in advance.

No there isn’t. Also be careful what you wish for, some kanjis have a very large number of readings, and if all of them would be required to mark the review as correct probably nobody would ever be able to finish wanikani :joy:

1 Like

Indeed. If you include all the rarer readings for a kanji like 生 (which is otherwise extremely common), I think most of us would be very hard-pressed to recall them all for the sake of a review. (I know all the ones that appear in multiple words, I believe, but there are at least another two that you only see in 1-2 words.)

Perhaps more importantly…

I understand that you might just want to make sure you’re learning things ‘well’, but while knowing common readings can be useful for guessing how to read new words, it’s honestly way more useful to know kanji readings inside words. There’s no real point otherwise. By extension, you’re going to find it much more helpful knowing words containing a particular kanji than just knowing all the possible readings or meanings for that kanji.

This isn’t meant to be discouraging or to say that you won’t be able to remember all the readings. It’s just a matter of how kanji are really used. From a practical standpoint, just memorising readings for individual kanji isn’t the most logical approach.

5 Likes

These scripts claim to do this but I have no idea if they work

4 Likes