How to immerse yourself at the beginning?

Hi,
I’ve been studying Japanese for a few months. I do Wanikani, Bunpro, Kaniwani, Kitsun and a level of Japanese at my university, but sadly I’m kind of poor, so I can’t pay for all those services. That means that I’ll have to study by other means. The real problem is that I have seen that most of you say that is important to immerse in the language since the beginning, and those who didn’t do it from the beginning, usually regret. My personal problem is that I can’t really understand the material from N5, then it has been frustrating to “immerse” myself in the language. Any advice for this poor soul that wants to learn useful Japanese and not just random words from apps. Thanks.

2 Likes

If you like anime there are some places you can watch for free with Japanese subtitles. Some recommend Japanese subtitles since you won’t rely on the English and have to actually actively listen/look things up to understand. There’s some resources here: Learn Japanese with Anime - New Free Resources!

I remember at least one of them having both English and Japanese subs as an option… which can be nice, that way if you really don’t understand you can turn on Eng subs for a second lol.

I finished N5 and N4 vocab and knew some basic grammar before I even attempted immersion but everyone is different.

If you want to learn words in context/example sentences then I would recommend 10k anki deck, it’s not immersion but at least it’s not just “words from apps” as you say. I like the Nayr’s 5k deck a lot too. I say the sentences out loud usually to practice my mouth. xD;

Graded readers are a good starting point.

1 Like