Calling all conversationally fluent people!

Hellloooo, I think I’ve found a topic for my debut in the community. Woot!

For those who can hold a good conversation in Japanese (or any new language for you), how did you get there? What did you do to get conversationally fluent and how long did it take?

I’ve been studying Japanese for two years, but my conversation skills are incredibly stunted. My comprehension is barely anything, and when I speak it’s kinda like ‘英語を習い。。。えと。。。はじめます。。えと。。。習いはじめた時and so on. I need to speak more, but I’m not sure how I should go about it.

Any tips?

~leedle

10 Likes

How many hours are spent on the language daily those two years? Output is a different beast, it’ll come to you with some active training once you’re done comprehending.

2 Likes

It really depended on the time of year, when I had class, it was around 1-2 hours per day, but sometimes turned into a bit of a cram because I was focussed on my actual major at uni (which wasn’t Japanese heh). For the last two months, it’s been a solid at least 1.5hours a day with wanikani, bunpro, and chatting to people on language exchange apps.

2 Likes

No input other than that? Because when you’ve had enough input, you’ll know what to say, you might stumble on words but you don’t think in grammar structures and how to put the sentence together.

1 Like

I’ve started watching dramas and taking notes now that I have time to watch TV haha. When you say input, do you mean just audio/visual input, or is it including reading, textbooks etc?

1 Like

Just watching dramas, listening to music, watching japanese tv shows. and just shadowing or talking to the TV or myself (which I not only do in japanese :see_no_evil:)
and talking in my course or to my tandem partner (but that only for the last 2 years, and we most of the time speak german, since she needs german for finding a job here in germany and my japanese is just a hobby.)

2 Likes