How offensive is it to try to articulate something -?

Hi! I studied Japanese in high school and college and have recently gotten back into it. I’m working through L.5… I was never taught on’yomi & kun’yomi this way, so some of the readings are hard for me to memorize. Anyway, my question to those of you who live in, or have studied/worked in Japan - Is it more respectful to speak English well, or to risk speaking Japanese terribly? This obviously depends on the situation, but if you have any thoughts, I’d appreciate hearing them. Thanks!

3 Likes

If it’s obvious that you’re still a beginner at Japanese no one would take offense in you trying, they would appreciate it.

9 Likes

People generally are supportive of foreigners trying to speak the language.

And you’re going to be given the benefit of the doubt if you say things that would be considered offensive if said by advanced or native speakers.

I think a common one is when beginners are unaware of the contrastive usage of は, and say things like 今日はきれいですね! which could be interpreted as “you’re pretty today (but not other days)”. But if they know you’re a beginner, they probably won’t look at it that way.

20 Likes

I think it’ll be fine to just speak Japanese. Even low level, awkward Japanese would be preferable to English. The former can feel a little foreign and fun, if a little bit of a bother. The latter can be much more intimidating depending on their knowledge of English back from school.

2 Likes

(good advice from dia and Xyz and Leebo) One other thing to keep in mind. If you are doing/talking about more complicated things and the other person speaks really good English, then maybe just switch to English for the sake of clarity.

8 Likes