I have a question!

Okay, sometimes I want to speak Japaneese art accounts on twitter or tumblr etc. But I’m too afraid to offend them unwittingly. Because I heard that Japanese people care about hierarchy a lot and you shoul be polite when you’re speaking with them. What do you guys think? Should I wait for learning Japanese better or should I just go in all?
(And nope, I’m not good at English either but hope I could explain myself :stuck_out_tongue: )

2 Likes

Jumping into interacting on something like Twitter in a foreign language is pretty high level stuff.

But most textbooks teach Japanese the way they do to minimize unintentional offense.

ます / です is generally polite and I don’t see why it would cause any problems. Unless you learned Japanese from just chatting with bros, you should be fine on the politeness front.

7 Likes

This. Honestly, ます / です will do for pretty much any situation you’ll find yourself in if you visit Japan as a tourist.

2 Likes

You’re not japanese, so don’t worry about unintentionally offending anyone. I’m not offended by someone speaking bad italian, unless he or she is italian.

6 Likes

Just expect to see alot of 日本語が上手 responses from native speakers.

10 Likes

:open_mouth: omg. I had to do a double-take because I read that without realizing I read it. WaniKani is mana from heaven!

8 Likes

Japs on Twitter or tumblr remain pretty casual. As long as you don’t start speaking with purposely rude expressions, you should be fine. There’s very little hierarchy at play there, though you’ll probably have the japanese treating you politely or with honor as you are a foreigner.

Then again, I regularly interact with about 5 doujin artists who I translate for, so even I offend them somehow by mistake, they’ere probably more inclined to forgive me than if I was some random looking for a language buddy. :sweat:

3 Likes