How much time until I can take the JLPT N1 and pass... help!

Hi! So I’ve been studying for 3 years approximately, but 3 non-continuous years, I’m currently studying with the A2 Rikai and Katsudoo from Marugoto. I just entered to university and I want to study abroad in Japan but obviously they ask for N1 or minimum N2 JLPT certificates. I was planning on taking N4 this year and my exchange, if possible, would be in three years. If I study every day will I be able to make it? Please be as realistic as possible!
Also if you have tips and thoughts please tell me!
Thank so much in advance.
I read some of the forums I feel like I sound rude! so many of you have been studying the language for nearly a decade and here I am trying to binge it all at once, I’m sorry if this offends you in any way, it is not my intention and I apologize!

3 Likes

Here I would just briefly repeat my story: in Sep 2014 I have joined a Japanese course and made friends with another student there. Both of us started from zero. In Dec 2018 I passed N2, and she passed N1. We went through the same ups and downs along the way: quit school 1, had a self-study time for around 8 months and joined school 2 until May 2019.
What the differences were:

• I’ve been to Japan a few times, including 2 1-mth courses in the language school, while she visited the country first in late 2019
  • I was going with the flow (the courses, the textbooks, you name it), while she in addition to that was diving into the language: looking for chat partners, browsing the Japanese net for news and articles, joining speaking clubs, analyzing why people say this in situation A and this in situation B etc…

The result is as you see.

So to your question:

1. N1 in 3 years is possible
  2. Given you put there a conscious effort, training the whole variety of language skills and using native material as early as you can afford