How do you remind yourself of doing your daily reviews?

I’m a college student (with a busy schedule :sob:) who has a really bad time trying to remind himself of doing his daily reviews. I had taken a really long WaniKani break for exams and I forgot about WaniKani and doing my reviews until recently.

• What are your tips and how do you keep motivated to do your daily reviews?
  • When and where do you do your reviews?

Thanks in advance. Hopefully this thread helps someone else too!

10 Likes

When do I do my reviews? First thing in the morning, last thing before bed. Otherwise when I feel like it. I have a Chromebook dedicated to learning Japanese (Bunpro and WK are the first two tabs, all other tabs are Japense-related) and I put it on top of my laptop before going to sleep in order to remind myself to do my reviews before I do anything else in the morning. When I’m too busy to dedicate time to Japanese I still show up every day and do at least one review - sometimes that becomes more than one, but if not then that’s okay. When I have mountains of reviews to catch up on I buy chocolate and reward myself one piece for every 20 reviews I do:)

17 Likes

Same reason I don’t forget to breathe, I just don’t. I just do them. Make routines and you will just not forget about them.

10 Likes

I just do them every single day after dinner, even when I don’t feel like it. If you’re busy you can just do them for less time, there’s no way you can’t spare 10-20 minutes. Don’t take breaks, even on your birthday.

5 Likes

The moment I opened my PC, WaniKani would be the first tab I have open. If it’s always open on your PC, it kind of serves as a reminder.

But I spent my whole day at home, back when I was in college, I took online classes, so I can at least recommend to make a habit to do a set amount of reviews before you do something. If you want to play a game, do 10 reviews first. Something like that, wherever applicable, try and fit it in.