How do you read?

I’ve been using the Satori Reader app for a few months now and I really like it, but I’m not sure what will be the best way for me to progress.

At first I was just reading and listening to each article again and again until I could read the whole thing without stopping, but this got a little boring and I wasn’t sure if I was learning or just remembering.

Now I read an article, listen to it, then read and listen at the same time. It means I’m exposing myself to more varied articles, but I’m not spending as long on the comprehension.

As with most things there may not be a ‘better’ way, but I’m still wondering what people’s thoughts are. Do you do this? Something different?

1 Like

Well… not sure it helps since I never really gelled with Satori Reader… but I’m not personally a fan of reading the same things over and over…

So to just answer “how do I read”. I pretty much practice reading with a paper book and listening with a different audio book independently of one another…

I try to not look up too many words because I find it gets frustrating to me quickly nowadays (I used to look up everything when I was just starting out)

4 Likes

Personally, I feel like reading a wider variety of material is more important than understanding everything 100%. In the long run, being able to read for 4 hours while getting the gist of the story ends up being more helpeful than, as an example, rereading and analyzing everything for an hour, getting bored, and eventually burning out.

If working on the comprehension works best for your learning style, I think you could find a balance. Maybe only analyzing and rereading the texts that have many uncommon vocabulary and grammar points once in a while, while focusing mostly on reading the easier ones once or twice.

Regardless of the methods you use, you can’t go wrong if you keep reading a lot everyday.

5 Likes