How do I get into reading?

Hey there,

I started learning Japanese beginning of 2023. As I have a quite time-consuming full-time job, I was not able to invest tons of hours each day. I went to a language class each Saturday and picked up Wani Kani at some point last year. I think I understand the general grammar and I basically do WaniKani every day. However, I will be moving to Japan in the next months and to be honest my slow progress is freaking me a bit out. I think I would not even pass the N5 exam yet :frowning:

My gut feeling is telling me that I need to get into reading, as the immersion will be extremely helpful and I will make significant progress. Something interesting + challenge sounds like a big win. I bought a few of the absolute beginner club manga, but feel like they are still way too difficult with my current WaniKani level.

So you could conclude, I am a bit lost, with a lot of questions on my mind:

• How do you in general approach reading materials? Do you just read over it without looking things up? Do you look up every word? Do you create Anki decks then and do SRS? Read it again?
  • Should I pick something from Natively for the lowest level? Or rely on Satori Reader?
  • Should I just continue learning WaniKani without any reading and wait until level x?
  • Should I in parallel learn any anki decks to build up vocabulary on top of WaniKani?

Thank you upfront for everyone trying to help me.

9 Likes

NHK News Web Easy is a nice, free, low-committment way to start.

EDIT: Satori Reader has free content as well, now that I think about it, so there’s no harm in trying.

5 Likes

This isn’t Japanese specific, as I’m still a baby beginner at Japanese, but I did learn German as a foreign language.