Hakubun - Cross-Platform App for Wanikani - Android Alpha Version Released

Hey all! I’m creating this post because I’ve been working on a third-party WaniKani app. I’m a full-time software engineer with a lot on my plate, and this is a side project of mine I work on whenever I have free time.

This is a space for questions, feedback, and requests about the upcoming app.

Disclaimer: I’m generally good about replying, but I’m also a queer autistic person that’s prone to burnout/feeling overwhelmed, so please take that into account :stuck_out_tongue:

TLDR

Android beta version is available now! You can get it here:

iOS beta available to test here: Join the Hakubun beta - TestFlight - Apple

No concrete date for non-beta Android and iOS and releases yet (when I feel like it’s a reliable and fully-featured app)

What is the app?
Hakubun (博聞 or はくぶん, meaning well-informed or erudite) is meant to be used in the same way Tsurukame, Flaming/Smouldering Durtles, or Jakeipuu (RIP :cry:) are used.
This means you’ll be able to do the following:

• Lessons
    • By subject type selection
    • By subject selection (e.g. want to study specific kanji)
    • Normal vanilla selection
    • By current level
  • Reviews
    • By subject type selection
    • By subject selection
    • Normal vanilla selection
    • By current level
    • Back to back (reading then meaning, meaning then reading, or just shuffled)
  • Search (for radicals, kanji, vocab, kana vocab)
  • User settings
    • Defaults for audio, sort order, batch size, and more
    • Light theme or dark theme

What does it look like?
Some of the design is inspired from the Jakeipuu app, but the code is all my own (as much as anyone can really own code lol) and I by no means want to replicate that app exactly.

Home Screen

Reviews

Lessons

Subjects

Subject Details (seen in reviews, lessons, clicking on a subject)

Search

User Settings

FAQ

Can I use it with a screen reader or keyboard?