Goal of movement? に & へ

Can someone please explain how to use these particles, I’ve just finished the questions on lesson 3 of genki and the only things I got wrong were using other particles in place of に or へ, also from what I understand they are interchangeable when it is a goal towards which something moves? but what does that even mean! :confounded:

Below are the answers that I got wrong because I either used を, but more often で in place of に or へ. Also since I am fairly new to Japanese I have only used the kanji I know.

*メアリーさんは日曜日に学校を来ません。
*私の友達は日本で来ます。
*たなかさんはとしょかんで行きます。
*These are my wrong answers where I used the wrong particles in place of に to avoid confusion

2 Likes

As far, as I know, に is used to indicate destination
へ is used to indicate direction. In other words, when へ is used, the speaker is not completely sure that the destination will be reached.

私は山に行きます。 - I’m going to the mountains.
私は山へ行きます。 - I’m going towards the mountains.

That’s how I learned it, but I might be wrong.

P. S. I’m not sure if を and で can be used the way you used them though.
I’ve never encountered を来ます (nor へ来ます for that matter) - with 来る it’s always に。I guess that’s because when someone comes - the destination is reached, so it’s に and not へ。

In case of 行く - it’s possible to say both 図書館に行きます and 図書館へ行きます - the difference is the difference between going to the library and going towards the library.
However, again, I might be wrong.

9 Likes

Oh yeah they were the answers I got wrong, just showing how I was using を and で in place of に when I was working through the workbook

That’s actually a really useful way to think about it thanks!

2 Likes

へ and に can mostly be used interchangibly but with the caveat that へ can not be used to mark a final destination.

2 Likes