Giving the Cure Dolly Method A Try

So I have been following along with Cure Dolly’s Japanese grammar videos (about 20/90~ish in so far) and i tried something that they recommend on their website. I tried watching Japanese Anime with Jap Subtitles (trying to translate in my head first, then looking at the English translation). It was quite the challenge. Took me an hour to watch 3 minutes of an episode. I think i picked a show thats too hard to start with, so I am trying to drop down to a simpler slice of life anime. (In case you are curious I started with Hyouka, and now i am going to try watching Teasing Takagi-san). It can be quite hard because I am an absolute beginner but i feel like this is just kinda the next step. To try and apply the grammar rules I have been learning and figure out the sentences. I might have to slow down the audio because normal talking speed if far too fast for me to comprehend at this point. I suppose it would also help for me to set up an anki deck and add cards to it as i come across new terms (which will be nearly every word) in the anime.

Just wanted to see if anyone had any pointers or suggestions. If you know a better way to take these first steps, i would love to hear it. Any and all help or encouragement is appreciated. Im not exactly sure what I am doing, I am just trying my best to Learn Japanese.

7 Likes

What about something like Shiro Kuma Cafe? For me personally that was a good starting point.

About the Anki deck - yes, that’s a good idea. That’s what I do as well for both anime and books.

6 Likes

yeah i have an anki deck titled ‘random vocab’ that i just put new entries into as i discover from reading articles/etc…something tells me it’ll be a stupid huge file by a year from now lol

3 Likes

I watch one piece.
Great show.
You’ll hear a lot that you’ve learnt on wanikani

1 Like