General Test Taking Tips (JLPT or other)

Hey folks, since all of you have been so helpful in my own learning journey I wanted to offer some help back to you, if possible. I’m a Professor (not of Japanese!) and in my academic career was pretty good with tests after having take so many of them, so here are some test taking tips for people who are thinking about going for JLPT in December and beyond. Other people on here will have better things to offer about the actual test itself; these are general strategies to improve your likelihood of good outcomes overall, especially for those who get nervous or psyched out.

The fundamental idea here is that the JLPT actually is testing two things:

1. Your ability to understand Japanese, but even more so…
  2. Your ability to do the JLPT.

And while you’ve likely been working on #1 for months or years, chances are you’ve been working on #2 just by taking practice tests. But as you know, taking the actual test is really only one part of test day. The rest of the day usually screws people up way more than they realize. It’s really easy to get overwhelmed or not perform your best if you include a bunch of new variables, e.g. the test is on a Sunday but you usually do practice tests on weekday nights, you usually do listening in headphones instead of on a speaker, you’ve never been to the testing center and you’re thinking about making sure you get there on time and where is the actual check-in area? Where is the bathroom? What’s your plan on eating? Etc…
NONE of these things have to do with your ability in Japanese but all of them will sap valuable mental and emotional energy which will take away from your ability to perform your best come test day, so the biggest recommendation I can offer is to try to knock out as many of them as possible by creating a really tight routine in the weeks leading up to the test.