Duolingo Vs Lingodeer

Hi,

I have been doing Duolingo for a little over 2 months straight but I am thinking of giving it up…

So far my Japanese study is composed of:

• Pimsleurs (on the way to work)
  • Wanikani (morning and night).
  • Duolingo (throughout the day)
  • Japanese from Zero text book (Book 1)
  • Bunpo / Bunpro (i’ve just started these; i need to work out which one i should do)

I would like to add Lingodeer as well but I am pretty pressed for time as it is. I am thinking of swapping out Duolingo for Lingodeer since i’ve heard a lot of good things about it.

What are people’s opinions on this?

I know Lingodeer is paid (and Duo is free) but this doesn’t concern me.

Is Lingodeer far and away superior to Duo? Do both apps pretty much accomplish the same thing? (they seem similar to me).

Any input would be great.

Cheers Peter.

Debatable. Technically it’s free, but has that stupid heart system that punishes you for getting anything wrong, stopping you actually studying.
So, they claim free, then make it painful if you don’t cough up.

4 Likes

Go for it. LD is much more superior with sentences not written by madmen and voices are done by actual human beings rather than soulless computers.

2 Likes

Ah thanks. I like how Lingodeer has N5 - N1 levels so you know where you are at and feel like you’re getting somewhere.

Yeh you’re not wrong. But i generally am able to do it on the computer at work so this doesn’t affect me.

I didn’t know this about Lingodeer before I bought it, but each lesson concludes with a little reading/speaking portion. You get a chance to practice speaking/pronounciation by parroting the dialog, but the app also makes you record your voice and submit it to a shared leaderboard in order to complete the entire lesson.