Duolingo app

Wondering if anyone here has used the Duolingo app? And what you think of it if you did?
I’ve been using it for a couple of months and while it teaches sounds, words, and phrases, it doesn’t teach anything about word placement or grammar. I think I might stop using it. Or maybe not use it as much.

Thanks!
Kim

4 Likes

Maybe try Human Japanese app instead if you want a casual light textbook. They have a free version you can try to see if you like it. Full price is $10 iirc

Bunpo (Ios app) is free grammar app thats pretty new. Nice minimalistic design and straight forward presentation. (Categorized into N5-N1 levels and Kana)

7 Likes

That’s what finally gave me the push to study Japanese. As of today 177 days w/o missing my practice! DuoLingo isn’t perfect but it’s a good tool to supplement other learning. If you use DuoLingo there is an extra button that looks like a light bulb. Some courses have this already available, but the Japanese course doesn’t seem to have this yet (android app). This doesn’t exist for every item in the course but when it is there, it usually gives you the basic vocab and is rather helpful.

I know other language courses on Duo have this in the app so it should eventually come to the Japanese one, but I looked on my phone and at the moment it still isn’t there. Doesn’t hurt to login on a computer though. Duo is not without flaws and if you get stuck or need an explanation click on the discussion button if/when you miss an answer. It will open up a page that users post questions/comments to.

Lastly, the Japanese course is one of the newer ones. Many users, including myself have found mistakes. While they aren’t deal breakers they can be annoying. Use that report button. Honestly they do actually look at it and fix them if it’s wrong. I have gotten 5 or 6 emails back saying “you suggested “xxxxx” as a translation. We now accept…thanks for the contribution” So there are folks there actively working to make it better.