Does my first Japanese sentence make sense?

This is my first time using grammar to make my own sentences. I feel like I definitely made a few mistakes (or a lot) but I would like some feedback on the things I did right and things I did wrong.

こんにちは。

私はフィンリーさん。十九歳で、英国出身です。アイススケートやゲームのが好きです。
私の夢はいつか日本に行って美味しいものを食べることです。七ヶ月間日本語を勉強しています、基本の文章しから作れだ。一ヶ月前に文法を学び始めましたが、それは難しいと感じます。助言ありますか、改善したい。

Hello.

My name is Finlay. I am 19 years old and live in the UK. I like Ice skating and playing games. My dream is to go to Japan one day and eat some delicious food. I have been learning Japanese for 7 months but I can only make basic sentences. I started grammar 1 month ago and I find it difficult. Do you have any advice, I would like to improve.

7 Likes

Wow! This is really good for only one month! This is probably where I was 2 months into learning grammar. Are you using textbooks or an online resource?

2 Likes

Tae Kim’s grammar guide is really good, like a glossary for grammar if you go into the PDF and use ctrl+F. I’m almost done with the Genki books, which I study with a Japanese tutor.

1 Like

I have been using Wanikani for Kanji and Vocab, Bunpro for my grammar, 80/20 Japanese’s guild on sentence structure and started Genki 1 last week.

1 Like

Genki is definitely going to help you a lot, especially in the later lessons. Don’t skip the exercises! That’s where you can get the most practice. The Genki workbooks(which accompany the textbooks) are also amazing extra practice for forming sentences, if you have those as well.

2 Likes

Yeah I had a lot of people telling me on my last post that Genki would help me a ton. But did my sentence make sense and was there anything that needs fixed?

I have a feeling that this is VERY wrong.

It looks like you are trying to say “but I can only make basic sentences.”
I think I would say でも基本の文章をしか作れます。I just asked my tutor if that makes sense so I can update you when she responds. I’m also just a beginner but that’s my best guess.