Close, near, vicinity, neighborhood and all that

I’ve been having serious déjà-vus for quite a while now. Just this morning I learned 近所 and it seems like the tenth or so word in as many levels that revolves around the general concept of close, near, vicinity, neighborhood, area and you name it. 付近, 近い, 近く, 辺り, 辺 … is closeness like a super-important concept in Japanese? :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

I wouldn’t say it’s particularly important, at least from what I know. It’s probably because you learned the 近 and 辺 kanji relatively close together (I think they’re only two levels apart from what I remember). Similar words tend to crop up after learning certain kanji because there are a lot of vocabulary words that use said kanji.

I’m not an expert on this, but as far as I know, 近い, 近く, 辺り, 辺 have different uses depending on the context (and 近い is adjective, 近く is adverb, 辺 is noun?). I’m not really sure about 付近 since I never encountered this word frequently that it sticks in the mind. 近所 is closest to the term neighbor. I don’t think Japanese have particular affection to closeness, for me its much like in English that we have different words for proximity (close, near, vicinity, proximity, neighbor, etc)

I see 付近 used like this a lot. 扉の付近に立ってはいけません “Don’t stand near the door.” But of course, there are broader ranges than that as well.

I think “neighborhood” is probably a better match for 近所. You could say 近所の人 for neighbor, as in “someone who lives in my neighborhood.” The person who literally lives next door would be 隣の人 or 隣人.

EDIT: And just on the main topic, we have many words for this in English as well. Proximity. Vicinity. Nearby area. Environs. Depends how deep you want to go.

2 Likes

Is this term (付近) used more frequently in conversation or in writing? I’ve probably never heard of this in all the things I’ve listened to, but then I guess that is limited to slice-of-life anime and drama cds :sweat_smile: (Or I’m not listening effectively enough)