Can someone help explain the Grammar in: 家族 と 日本 へ 来ました。

家族 と 日本 へ 来ました。= I came to Japan with my family?

I’m guessing the “I” part is assumed from the sentence. But I don’t quite understand the “と” in this case. I see it as like a connector sort of like “My family and Japan came”?

Which I don’t know if it makes sense.
I imagine the full sentence would be: 私は家族 と 日本 へ 来ました。
But in my mind, I’d think it more like: 私と家族は日本へ来ました。

So I sort of see it more like: I and my family, came[went?] to Japan.
Thanks heaps!

2 Likes

と can also mean “with,” as in this case.

Pronoun “I” is presumed, and 私は家族と日本へ来ました is the full sentence.
“I (the subject) my family (with) Japan (to) came” would be my breakdown.

I would also like to add - and I’m by no means an expert on this, just my general observation - thatと as “and” seem to more often than not connect like- or similar objects/subjects.

6 Likes

That’s the one.

Wasabi has a short article about it that might be helpful for you:

と as “and” implies a complete list.

2 Likes

It’s important to keep in mind that almost all of the particles have many uses and meanings.

と has probably a dozen or so, depending on how you count.

3 Likes

Thanks for this, I think it helps a lot. I think I was looking at と as more of a list, and didn’t look at the next grammar type “is to express partners of interaction.” from the article.

So my understanding is that 家族 と 日本 is “my family” is interacting with “Japan” by coming to it?

Some questions arise:

1. The examples in the article always assume “I and …”, so is this grammar point always assuming “I” in there?
  2. Earlier I noted between: 家族 と 日本 へ 来ました。and 私と家族は日本へ来ました。while I think I understand the above now, is there still a functional difference between the two? (like does one emphasize my family more then the other or something?)

Thanks again!

1 Like

You can consider the 家族とpart more as an additional information. Let’s start with the following: