Building a grammar study routine

In October, I got back into studying kanji after a long hiatus. Three months later, I’ve managed to stick with it and it’s become a regular part of my daily routine. Now, I want to do the same with grammar. Unfortunately, I’m hung up on how to start.

A little background: I studied Japanese all through college (I graduated about 1.5 years ago), but I was one of those students who would cram instead of studying over time. As a result, I didn’t retain nearly as much as we covered (my program used Genki and Tobira). I’m also a little “grammar-phobic” as it was what I tended to have the most trouble with.

I’ve been doing research on what resources people usually use for grammar study and it looks like my main options are textbooks, like Genki or Tobira, and online resources like Tae Kim or Imaebi. My question is, if I’ve already had some experience with grammar (I’d say I’m at an advanced-beginner level), which would be a better use of my time: starting over with the textbooks, or going for an online resource?

Another thing I should probably mention is I’m not studying with a test like JLPT in mind. I’ve discovered that studying because I have a test as opposed to because I want to tends to hurt me rather than help me.

tl;dr I already know a little bit of basic grammar. Should I go through textbooks like Genki or online resources like Tae Kim to further develop my skills?

Genki and Tae Kim are both aimed at beginners, and cover about the same points in different approaches. In the end, it comes down to personal preference, so you could try both and see what you think.

Though I’m not fond of it myself, there is also a SRS grammar resource called Bunpro, which many people seem to approve of. You could try it instead if you don’t like textbooks.