At long last... Level 60!

Well, I never thought I’d ever reach this point when I started learning Japanese in December 2017. Definitely thought I’d have given up long before now. Hours of fumbling through kanji and vocab on early mornings at my PC, late night commutes home, grinding through excess vocab on my phone… I’d be very curious to see how much time I’ve expended up to now (especially when it comes to my leeches hooo boy).

I remember how motivating these posts were when I first started out on Wanikani. So I’ll try and keep this (somewhat) concise and list how Wanikani has helped me in my Japanese studies and ways in which my kanji knowledge has benefitted me :smile:

• While playing video games, I tend to only need a dictionary for vocab and don’t run into kanji I don’t recognise that often (at least, in the kind of games I play). Pokemon Sword and Animal Crossing New Horizons are examples of games I have very little trouble with now. I find myself consulting a dictionary or the internet primarily because there can be various slang, game-specific terms and cutesy katakana words I don’t understand.

• I don’t watch anime too often, but I’ve had little trouble with the Ghibli films I’ve watched recently. Subtitles on, of course. My listening is horrific compared to my kanji comprehension. Spirited Away is my favourite movie so being able to watch it with Japanese audio and Japanese subtitles and understand the great majority of it is incredible!

• I mainly read NHK Easy News whilst in the first 20-30 levels of Wanikani but then moved on to native Japanese content when the kanji I was learning became more advanced. Surprising just how many Wanikani vocab words you can find in an article, even the more obscure terms. I rarely have to look up kanji in a news article, moreso I find myself looking up vocab because it uses some alternate reading of the kanji I’ve not yet encountered.